Week-End Round Up?!

What day is it? I think it’s Tuesday, maybe Wednesday… anyways whatever day it is, it’s the perfect day for the week-end round up.

Starting out the week, which I guess was last week, I got the great opportunity to help out the 2011 Tinner Hill Blues Festival…
TinnerHill
Lots o’ fun… great music from a lot people I’ve never heard of, got to chill backstage with a few, awesome BBQ, local craft brews Mad Foxx?, and just all around good time at the annual blues fest in Falls Church, VA.  Had a real New Orleans feel to it as well, from the music, to the colors, to the food.  Hopefully this turns into a nationally recognized festival… or not, and keep the small town feel.  It’s just something that I could see becoming so much more, but hopefully I make it down there again soon to see more of what that gem of a town with so much history has to offer.
TinnerHillBackStage…chilling backstage, never done that before… super sweet.

ummmm what else was there…. Got to see Count Bass D hold it down before People Under The Stairs at the Rock and Roll Hotel in DC.  Been trying to see that dude for years… I think last time I was a day late and a buck short in Atlanta… stranded in travelers aid, before I hitched a ride to Orlando…. whole nother story with that.  Anyways, Count is the shit, put on an awesome show, chilled with an awesome girl, left after she did, big mistake on my part, walked back in the rain, missed the last train home, and slept in Union Station… great show, seriously.  Chilling in the train station though wanted me to go back to my ways of just hopping on a train going anywhere… but it was cool.  PUTS put on a live show as well, although all I really knew them from was that “Acid Raindrops” song.  If you ever have a chance to catch either of these crews live, don’t hesitate, fake, or perpetrate.  Also ran into local DC experimental rapper, Watusi… Thats wass UP!  He’s where it’s at.  Real cool guy, and put on one of the livest, random, outta nowhere, beamed from space and back shows that I’ve seen in a long long time.  Took me back to my favorite underground hip hop days of the late 90’s and early 00’s.  Got to see him tear it up a while back with The New Retro… seriously check those guys out, keeping the funk alive!

…the Count making it legit, with mo’ hot shit…

…need to check one of their new records, I hear it acts as board game as well. Until then, let me blaze one up to this classic…

Then after that, not a whole lot else.  Working on some mixes, hopefully I can get soundcloud up on here soon… even take that shit on road and see what I can come up with.

More new music came into the Tin Man Alley headquarters this week as well… James Pants – JJames Pants (one man band, keeping that Twin Peaks sound alive, straight outta spokane), Madlib Medicine Show #11 – Low Budget High Fi Music (more smoked out dopeness from the Beat Konducta himself), J. Rocc – Some Cold Rock Stuf (constant rotation), Dam Funk – Toeachizown (5 LP’s of bass heavy 80’s style music seriously funked by DF), Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Gonna Eat That (on vomit colored typhoid fever containing soupy vinyl), and last but not least, a surprisingly enjoyable journey with Eyedea’s last project, Face Candy – Waste Age Teen Land (3 days recording, freestyle rap, over jazz music… wild and awesome… also comes with a behind the scenes DVD).  Check ’em out!  Maybe I’ll come back to these and try to write some reviews, probably not though… all of these albums get the trademarked Tin Man Rusty Two Thumbs Up Seal Of Approval… which means in the words of Count Bass D, do what ever you can to get your hands on ’em, begborrowsteel.

Finally… some new videos that have really been on non-stop playback mode this week.

Stone Throw’s newest addition with Jonti…

…can’t get enough of the off-kilter sounds mixed with psyched-out visuals.  Will stay tuned…

Then one from out of the Def Jux aftermath camp, with Cassettes Won’t Listen latest, “Perfect Day” from the new album, Evinspacey.

…heard about this guy from a few remixes, never really cared for them that much, until I heard “Animal Ox” where he fused the vocals of the Cannibal Ox Def Jux classic, “The Cold Vein,” with re-worked Animal Collective beats.  Every hipster’s wet dream, I know, but that shit was dope.  If the rest of his newest album sounds anything like the latest single, I’ll check it out… started out annoying, but can’t get that song or video outta my head.

Another video for my friend who can’t get enough of that baking soda for his heartburn… brought to you by none other than Hangar 18.

…then I guess if I’m trying to cram in as much as possible into this round up of sorts… cool mix tape I stumbled upon from Fat Beats, was the Willie Evans Jr. beat CD flipped from Aloe Blacc’s – Good Things.  So more good things to listen to… check it! hereeee.

This entry was posted in Life, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week-End Round Up?!

  1. Tyrone Behar says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

